Marseille 1-0 Benfica (2-2 agg, 4-2 on pens): French side in Europa semi-final

Faris Moumbagna scores for Marseille
Marseille were Europa League runners-up in 2018, and twice in its previous incarnation as the Uefa Cup in 1999 and 2004

Marseille are through to the Europa League semi-finals after beating Benfica 4-2 on penalties at the Stade Velodrome.

Substitute Faris Moumbagna scored the only goal of the second leg after 79 minutes to take the tie to extra time with the aggregate score level at 2-2.

Marseille scored all of their penalties while Angel di Maria and Antonio Silva missed for Benfica.

The French side will take on Atalanta – who beat Liverpool – in the last four.

Having come into Thursday’s second leg trailing 2-1, Jean Louis Gasset’s side started on the front foot.

With the clock ticking down, Benfica looked to hold on to their slender lead but Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang created an opportunity for Moumbagna to convert.

And in the shootout, the Stade Velodrome erupted as Luis Henrique slotted his penalty to send Marseille through.



Formation 3-5-1-1

  • 16López
  • 99MbembaBooked at 45minsSubstituted forMurilloat 45′minutes
  • 4GigotBooked at 89minsSubstituted forDaouat 100′minutes
  • 5Balerdi
  • 11HaritBooked at 89minsSubstituted forLafontat 110′minutes
  • 8OunahiSubstituted forde Limaat 59′minutes
  • 19Kondogbia
  • 27Veretout
  • 37SogloSubstituted forMoumbagnaat 58′minutes
  • 29NdiayeSubstituted forCorreaat 75′minutes
  • 10Aubameyang


  • 14Moumbagna
  • 20Correa
  • 36Blanco
  • 41Abdallah
  • 44de Lima
  • 46Lafont
  • 48Said M’Madi
  • 49Daou
  • 62Murillo


Formation 4-2-3-1

  • 1Trubin
  • 6Bah
  • 4António SilvaBooked at 38mins
  • 30Otamendi
  • 8Aursnes
  • 61Morris LuísBooked at 113mins
  • 87Gonçalves Neves
  • 11Di María
  • 27Fernandes Ferreira da SilvaSubstituted forMendonça Cabralat 102′minutes
  • 7Neres CamposSubstituted forJoão Márioat 61′minutes
  • 19TengstedtBooked at 60minsSubstituted forKökçüat 61′minutesBooked at 109mins


  • 3Fernández
  • 5Rodrigues da Silva
  • 9Mendonça Cabral
  • 10Kökçü
  • 20João Mário
  • 24Jumpe Soares
  • 32Rollheiser
  • 36Santos Almeida
  • 47Antunes Gouveia
  • 75Nogueira Gomes
  • 81Bajrami
  • 82Spencer Marques

Felix Zwayer


Live Text

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *